Henty House, Ruyton Girls' School
12 Selbourne Road, Kew 3101
12 Selbourne Rd, Kew VIC 3101, Australia
In 1872, Henry and Marian Henty moved in to ‘Tarring’, a two-storey, polychrome brick mansion built for them by prominent Melbourne architect Albert Purchas. The house and nearly four acres of grounds served as their family home until the death of Marian Henty in 1919. The following year the property was purchased by Ruyton Girls’ School, and ‘Tarring’ became the Boarding House and the iconic heart of the School. At that time, it was also renamed ‘Henty House’ in order to honour the connection to the Henty family, Victoria’s earliest European colonists. Boarding ceased at Ruyton in 1971. Ruyton Girls’ School was founded in Kew in 1878 by Mrs Charlotte Anderson and is one of Victoria’s oldest independent schools for girls. In 2018, its 140th year, Henty House remains at the centre of Ruyton. The building retains many original, Victorian-era features, while also showing the layers of change, made over the decades in order to meet the evolving needs of one of Melbourne’s leading schools.
Special Note: 8 years and above
Access: Able bodied access only
This listing has no upcoming events